These seven students were selected by the jury from 104 nominations submitted. The motivation for nominating these students varies, but what the finalists have in common is that they have dedicated themselves to helping others.

This year’s jury consists of:

– Sandra Gartska, winner Student of the Year 2022

– Jos van der Geest, Erasmus MC lecturer of the year

– Nizar El Manouzi, student and host of documentary tv show for children Klokhuis

– Samira van Bohemen, project leader Erasmus Love Lab

– Martine Wierenga, director International Office

Medical interns Süheyl and Tevfik travelled to Turkey to help earthquake victims. Amran, Hassnae and Pim are active in associations advocating for medical students, but have been nominated for more. Amran accompanies people from her neighbourhood to doctor’s appointments, Hassnae is praised by her mentor students for her support and guidance, and Pim was a driving force behind the national campaign for an internship allowance for medical interns.

Renee, as president of football club Antibarbari, is fully committed to her club and its members. Alex is involved in making his own faculty, the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences, more inclusive and diverse.

Interviews with the Student of the Year nominees will appear on Erasmus Magazine from the beginning of May. Online voting will open on 11 May. The winner will be announced during the live show on 31 May.

The election for Student of the Year is organised by Studium Generale and Erasmus Magazine. The jury has chosen the finalists from 104 nominations. From 11 May, you can vote for one of the students. These votes are one-third of the final result. The jury vote counts for one third and the votes in the audience on 31 May also count for one third.

Student of the Year_Sandra_The Bye Bye Show 2022-Ali Alshamayleh

Read more

Sandra Garstka is winner of the Student of the Year election

"Wow!" That was the first word that Sandra Garstka uttered when presenters Tessa Hofland…