What better way to start the cold winter months than listening to the warm deep sounds of a double bass? This Winter Concert, the Rotterdam Student Orchestra collaborated with the talented double bass solist Catharina Feyen to perform Bottesini’s Concerto No 2. Catharina Feyen (21 y/o) started her study at the Codarts Conservatory in 2018 and has since performed with the Dutch Youth Orchestra, Pacific Music Festival, and with her own Armonioso quartet.

Staying in the spirit of the Romantic era, the orchestra performs the First Symphony by Beethoven. This symphony was written at the turn of the 18th century and pays homage to Mozart and Haydn, who had been Beethoven’s tutor for many years. Beethoven’s First is often called the most contemporary piece from the least contemporary symphonist.

Finally, the evening concludes with a world premiere of In the Blue Night by modern composer Reza Namavar, who translated the Theory of Evolution into music. You will hear molecules forming, cells divide and morph, creatures swim and crawl. As such, the Rotterdam Student Orchestra truly takes you on a journey through time!

Beethoven – Symphony 1
Bottesini – Concerto No. 2 with solist Catharina Feyen
Reza Namavar – In the Blue Night
Director: Coen Huisman

More information about RSO:
The RSO is a symphonic orchestra for students from Rotterdam and its vicinity. See for more information: http://www.nu-rso.nl/?lang=en

Meer informatie
Date: Friday 6 December 2019
Time: 20.00 – 22.00 hours
Location: Erasmus Paviljoen

Ticket information
Students: €6,00
Other visitors: € 8,00

Organised by Rotterdam Student Orchestra in cooperation with Studium Generale